Delta Sigma Theta’s Scholarship Breakfast

Delta Sigma Theta Holds Prayer Breakfast at Allen Temple. From left to right: Reverend Natalya Johnson, Pastor Brondon Reems, Pastor Charley Hames, Jr., Candace Hill Lewis - President San Francisco Alumnae Chapter, Reverend Gwendolyn Boyd - guest speaker, Reverend Sharon Hollie, Reverend Dr. Katherine L. Ward, Father Jay Matthews and Iman Sideeq Islam

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. San Francisco Alumnae Delta Community Foundation held its first Annual Prayer Breakfast fundraiser in Oakland,  “A Day To Be Thankful,” to raise money for student scholarships
The event was held last Saturday at Allen Baptist Temple Church, Family Life Center Auditorium.
The scholarships will support students who are residents of San Francisco and Marin Counties, high school seniors accepted for admission to a four-year college or university. Applicants must be able to demonstrate community volunteerism within their school or community and have a minimum cumulative grade point average of 2.5.  In addition, the Chapter awards scholarships to an African-American student accepted in the San Francisco Merola Opera Program. Scholarship awards total about $12,000.
The special guest speaker at last Saturday’s fundraiser was Reverend Gwendolyn E. Boyd, an ordained itinerant elder of the African Methodist Episcopal Church. She serves as the Executive Minister for Church Operations at Ebenezer A.M.E. Church in Fort Washington, Maryland.
Boyd is the 22nd National President of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated.  She was nominated by President Obama in 2009 to serve as a member, Board of Trustees of the Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation and confirmed by the Senate in 2010.
Pastor Staci L. Current of Jones Memorial United Methodist Church served as Mistress of Ceremonies.  The prayer breakfast was supported by a host of participating community clergy: Reverend Bonita Kitt, Pastor Charley Hames, Jr., Reverend Natalya Johnson, Reverend Dr. Katherine L. Ward, Father Jay Matthews, Pastor Brondon Reems, Iman Sideeq Islam and Reverend Sharon Hollie.
The breakfast was attended by 500 guests and included performances by vocalist Jackie Tolbert, praise dancer Simone Goldman, music by Andrew Arnett, Timothy Davis, David MacFarlene and Josh Grayson and a host of vendors.  Members of the Prayer Breakfast Committee consisted of Antoinette Porter, chairperson, Stephanie Bolden, Gloria Hampton, Lavena Holmes, Cheryl Marsh, Shirley Matthews, Regina Pridgeon, Rhonda Smith, Lugretta Staten and Gail Toliver.
To donate to the scholarship fund, make checks payable to San Francisco Alumnae Delta Community Foundation (SFADCF), 1290 Fillmore Street, Suite 113, San Francisco 94115.