Gonzalo Rucobo Receives SF Foundation Award

From left to right: Dr. Sandra Hernandez, CEO of The San Francisco Foundation, The San Francisco Foundation Community Leadership Awardee Gonzalo Rucobo and Gay Cobb, Gay Cobb, The San Francisco Foundation Trustee Emeriti.

The San Francisco Foundation Community leadership Awards honor leaders who do extraordinary work.  This year the foundation honored Bishop Yvette A. Flunder, founder and director of Ark of Refuge, for courageously spearheading a movement of HIV/AIDS prevention, response, and care within the African American faith community and beyond.
The  other 2011 Awardees were Jordan Simmons, artistic director of East Bay Center for the Performing Arts; Ravenswood Family Health Center for providing high quality health care to Southeast San Mateo County; Gonzalo Rucobo, co-founder and executive director of Bay Area Peacekeepers, for his work with gang members and John Santos, musician and cultural activist, for making music that transcends cultural barriers and serves as a tool for social justice.
Each individual received $10,000 and $20,000 was given to the Ravenswood Family Health Center.
Awardees of the 2011 Koshland Young Leader Awards received $7,000.00 each. The awardees were Huimin Yang, Balboa High School; Daynelita Dulalas, Metropolitan Arts and Technology High School; Maria Figueroa, Mission High School; Sintia Henriquez, June Jordan School for Equity; Antonio Cruz, Ruth Asawa School of the Arts; Dina Lemus, June Jordan School for Equity; Christopher Quinteros, Mission High School, and Makda Beyene, Mission High School.